Serenity Prayer

A while ago I wrote a blog about Entitlement and The Christian right. I blasted Christians in America for expecting to have the same treatment that they once had when they were the majority.  As Our American society becomes more secular and less “Christian” the privileges of the religious right have dwindled.  I reminded Christians that the Bible offers many spiritual blessing for living a life of faith but it also promises certain persecution and suffering as well.  I am reminded of the extended Serenity Prayer that says:

“So that I may be reasonably happy in this life

And supremely happy with Him

Forever and ever in the next.

Amen.”

Today I realized that I am not immune from this sense of entitlement.

I have had my share of trials and tribulations in my life.  The majority of them albeit when I was rebelling in some way against God and the teachings of the Bible.  When I have chosen obedience and a life surrendered and guided by the Lord, I have experienced far more blessings than problems.

But when troubles come, and none can go through life without a few, my initial reaction is indignation.  As though, as a child of the King none should touch me. It is understandable that I should feel this way.  After all the Bible does say;

1 Peter 2:9New Living Translation (NLT)

9 But you are not like that, for you are a chosen people. You are royal priests, a holy nation, God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.

But just like the line in the Serenity prayer these promises and rewards will not be fully realized in this life, and I keep forgetting.

I must remember that the Priest I serve set the example of how to handle troubles with grace

Philippians 2:6-10New Living Translation (NLT)

6

Though he was God,

he did not think of equality with God

as something to cling to.

7

Instead, he gave up his divine privileges;

he took the humble position of a slave

and was born as a human being.

When he appeared in human form,

8

he humbled himself in obedience to God

and died a criminal’s death on a cross.

He also reminds me:

John 16:33 (NLT)

33 I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

God grant me……

