Stonecliff Inn Damascus, ORI was in the Portland, Oregon area this past weekend for a business conference.  I knew that there were several Twilight filming locations nearby.  On a previous visit I did not allow myself enough time to see them.  This trip I flew in a day early so I could take my pilgrimage to these locales.
Initially in researching, I thought I would take a Twilight Tour, but when I saw the price, decided to do my own tour.  I found a few blogs online by Twilight fans, detailing the addresses for the various sites and after securing a rental car and with my mobile phone’s Map App in hand, my friend and I set out on our journey.
The first stops were in Portland proper. The Cullen house is in a Portland neighborhood, at the end of a narrow street full of early 19th century period homes.  The modern marvel is built into the hillside over-looking woods.  It has a winding driveway and looked as though it was in the process of being renovated.  There was, what appeared to be a construction worker, lurking around, so I couldn’t really get out of my car, but got a couple of pics through the windshield.

Cullen house

The address is 3333 NW Quimby.  In the movie the home is located out in the woods outside of Forks, Washington. Movie magic, apparently was used to give that appearance to this very urban setting.  I heard that another home was used for the Breaking Dawn films near Vancouver BC.
Next up was Madison AKA “Forks” High School where the interior school shots were filmed.
We didn’t try to go inside.

forks high school
Next we decided to find the Viewpoint Inn in Corbett Oregon. This is the venue that was used for the prom in Twilight. The drive was beautiful along the Columbia River Gorge on a sunny fall afternoon with vibrant foliage and views of the river.  What a disappointment to find that the Viewpoint Inn was a shell of a building, having suffered a terrible fire in 2010.  The new owners were reported to be renovating it, but it appeared that nothing had been done on it yet.

Twilight prom site

Since we were already in the same area, we headed for the Multnomah Falls, which were featured in the background of the baseball scene of Twilight.  The drive to the falls began with a breathtaking view of the River Gorge at Vista House at Crownpoint,  and then a beautiful drive along the lush, wooded, historic highway 30.  We stopped at another beautiful waterfall along the way.
As I drove along the highway, it reminded me of the meandering drives through the woods that Edward and Bella took in the movies.
The Multnomah Falls are magnificent with a fabulous historic stone lodge.  It was a perfect place to grab a late lunch. The clam chowder and salad with hazelnut dressing were superb!

Multnomah Falls Oregon

We took the beautiful drive back to Portland and then to our hotel in Vancouver, WA for a restful evening before a little more touring the next day.
Our conference started Saturday afternoon, so we had a little bit of time that morning to try to hit up a few more sites.  We decided on Damascus, Oregon- a short drive from Vancouver.
First stop was the Stonecliff Inn.  In the cliff that butts up against the Inn’s parking lot, amid the lush, green foliage, ferns and moss covered boulders, the scenes were filmed of Edward’s reveal of his powers as a vampire.  The movie gives you the feel that it is in a remote location- not at the edge of a parking lot!
One of the most famous lines of the movie was filmed there. ”So the lion fell in love with the lamb,” Edward says to Bella.

lion and the lamb

We decided to have breakfast at the famous Carver’s Café nearby, where the café scenes were filmed with Bella and her dad
It was a bustling, little café in small town America and I felt like I could be right in the middle of the Twilight film.  The food was great too!

twilight cafe
I didn’t see all of the locations, so I have more to see next time.  What a beautiful part of the country!  I realized the natural beauty of the area seduced me as much as the love story in the movie.  It was great to experience this intoxicating place. Be sure to check out my book http://bookstore.westbowpress.com/Products/SKU-000540655/Confessions-of-a-Christian-Twihard.aspx

