Image So goes the song by the group We As Human. Just when I thought the hardness of my heart had been broken away, I find that there was another layer to remove.  Like the fine chrysalis of the caterpillar as it begins to transform into the butterfly.  It is at first transparent so that the transformation is visible and the chrysalis pliable. And so this first layer of the chrysalis clung to me while the hard outer exterior had broken away.  Though it did not imprison me like the stone like shell I once wore, that immobilized my heart and blinded my soul, it enslaved me nonetheless. I was enslaved by the illusion of love. It made me believe that being desired was enough. This kept me safe from the risk of real love with the possibility of real rejection. But real love came along and the illusion torn away by the pain that real love brings. And once again my heart has room to grow and has no barrier to sharing love with others. Once again my broken heart is the path to my freedom. Its pain is the path to joy. “To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.” ― C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

