we are the resistance

I love America.  As the grandchild of immigrants, I know what a great country this is and the opportunities that are here.  My grandfathers came to America from Europe with a few dollars in their pockets and one nice suit.  They were able to build a comfortable life for their families, although neither of them had more than an 8th grade education. They embraced this country and never looked back with any kind of loyalty or love for the countries they came from. They became Americans and they raised American children who raised American grandchildren.

Although English was a second language for my grandfathers, it was the only language their children knew.  They would say, ” You are an American you need to speak English”.  My grandfathers spoke in their native language to their wives and their friends who were also immigrants but never to their children.

As their granddaughter, I understood the sacrifice that was made and the hardship endured by my grandfathers to become American citizens.  They were proud to be Americans and we became proud Americans because of them.  The only time I remember seeing my grandfather Sus cry, was as I sat on the floor in front of the black and white TV and played with my dolls, while watching  John F. Kennedy’s funeral.  Grandpa loved America and he loved his president.

Grandpa Amadeo, on the other hand loved Nixon and Reagan but all of America cried for John F. Kennedy.  The political climate of yesterday was an arm wrestling competition compared to the embittered nuclear-sized wars that are today’s party conflicts.
We were a nation of differences united for one good, the good of America. The land of the free and the home of the brave.

The land that their sons were willing to go to war for during the Korean War and now their great granddaughter (my daughter) is willing to serve as a U.S. Marine.

It wasn’t a perfect world and it wasn’t a government free of corruption, but it was a government that allowed personal choice and freedom for Americans.  There were less laws to interfere with personal choice and freedom.  There was opportunity for free enterprise and free enterprise meant jobs for Americans.  My grandpa Sus (who barely wrote English) was able to work in an unionized bakery where with my grandma’s job in an unionized cannery, they could earn enough to own their home and raise their four children.

Free enterprise meant the opportunity for my grandpa Amadeo  to start his own business that has continued for two more generations and gave a good livelihood for his family and their families.  That business provided the means for me to be the first person to graduate from college in both my mother’s and father’s family.

Free enterprise allowed me and my siblings to each own our own business and provide a good life for our children.

It was one nation under God.  Prayer was allowed in school and creationism was taught and most businesses were closed on Sunday because most Americans were in church.

Since then government involvement with personal choice and personal liberty has decreased our quality of life as Americans.  Laws and taxes inhibit free enterprise and cost America businesses and jobs. The government has taken God out of schools and replaced it with fear and violence. Government control has reduced the quality of education that our children receive. Taxes reduce our disposable income and now our freedom to choose our healthcare is being controlled by the government.

Can we return to the America we once were?

I remember my dad saying in the 70’s “We are becoming a communist country one law at a time.”  As I look at the constraints that we face today because of laws and compare it to the life that I have lived in a freer America, I know this is true.

I love America and I hope and pray that we can turn the tide and return to a freer braver country for future generations.

