ranch clouds

When I was a kid we had no internet or video games and TV was something you only watched after dinner.  We roamed the neighborhood in search of adventure.  We found adventures in vacant lots and fields of wild flowers and forts we built in tree branches. I remember lying on my back in the large empty field behind my elementary school with my friends, looking at the sky for hours-deciding what the cloud formations looked like while we made necklaces from the wildflowers. Time had no meaning we were lost in the adventure.

I experienced that feeling again this weekend as I got away from civilization to a wilderness adventure.  I was unplugged from technology and sat watching cloud formations.  It reminded me of a simpler time-a time of innocence, wonder and living in the moment.

Faith in Christ was simpler then too.  There was no worry about political correctness towards people who didn’t share your faith because we were the majority then and as the saying goes, “majority rules”.

Believers in Christ are not the majority now.  Church attendance has declined,  The darkness is growing.  But is the darkness growing in the church too?  Are we becoming like the churches Jesus rebuked in Revelation?  Are we lukewarm? Have we lost our first love? Are we tolerating immorality in our midst? Are we dead?

We want to preach the comfortable teachings of Christ but are we willing to live the hard teachings?  Are we willing to die to live?  As the darkness grows our light must get brighter.

Ephesians 5:3

But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people.

Matthew 7:21

[ True Disciples ] “Not everyone who calls out to me, ‘Lord! Lord!’ will enter the Kingdom of Heaven. Only those who actually do the will of my Father in heaven will enter.

Matthew 7:20-22

Matthew 5:16

Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.
As the darkness grows may our light grow that we may draw those out of darkness and into His wonderful light.
