There is  a song by 10thAvenue North about forgiveness and it has a line that says “I Feel Like the one Losing.”  When we forgive a wrong or injustice we suffer or see those who live ungodly lives seemingly prosper, sometimes we feel like we are losing.  We feel like evil is winning.

As I reflected on this recently in my life. God had two pictures for me.

 

The first one was of the good son in the story of the prodigal son as found in Luke 15. When the prodigal son returns after squandering his inheritance on loose living the grateful father orders a feast in his honor. The good son is so angry he won’t even go into the feast.
“So he answered and said to his father, ‘Lo, these many years I have been serving you; I never transgressed your commandment at any time; and yet you never gave me a young goat, that I might make merry with my friends. 30 But as soon as this son of yours came, who has devoured your livelihood with harlots, you killed the fatted calf for him.’

31 “And he said to him, ‘Son, you are always with me, and all that I have is yours. 32 It was right that we should make merry and be glad, for your brother was dead and is alive again, and was lost and is found.’”
For being the “good obedient son” there is a great reward. All that the father has is his. There is also the reward of not having to pay the price for disobedience and living in the blessing of the Father.
I was reminded that the reason I am obedient now is because I once paid the price of my prodigal living and never want to go there again. As the saying goes “Sin takes you farther than you wanted to go and leaves you there longer than you wanted to stay.”
God also reminded me of the story of Peter and Jesus as told in John 21. Jesus questioned Peter about his love for Jesus and asked him to “feed his sheep”. Peter looked over at John and wondered why Jesus had not questioned him.

John 21:21-23

New King James Version (NKJV)

21 Peter, seeing him, said to Jesus, “But Lord, what about this man?”

22 Jesus said to him, “If I will that he remain till I come, what is that to you? You follow Me.”

It was none of Peter’s business what John’s relationship with Jesus was about or what plans He had for John’s life.
Peter was to walk his own path and worry about his own relationship with Christ. A saying I have heard is “Swim in your own lane”. And so it is not for me to judge my Lord’s other servants, even those who seem to mar the name Christian. I must follow Him. I must entrust him with my life and not worry about another’s. As a saying I read recently states “Don’t be jealous of another’s success. God has enough blessings for all”.

